Works

Books

Her Body Among Animals, Short Fiction Collection Forthcoming Spring 2024 from Book*hug Press.

What to Wear When Surviving A Lion Attack, 2019. Mansfield Press. Shortlisted for the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award for Poetry. http://mansfieldpress.net/2019/06/what-to-wear-when-surviving-a-lion-attack/

Fiction

“Mermaid Girls,” North American Review, 306.2. Summer 2021.

“Everyday Horror Show,” The Master’s Review Anthology IX, 2021.

“When Foxes Die Electric,” The Journey Prize Stories 32, McClelland & Stewart, 2020. Originally published in Room Magazine, Issue 42.2, Borderlands. Spring 2019 as the first place winner of Room Magazine’s 2018 Short Fiction Contest, as selected by Zoe Whittall.

“A Trick of the Dark,” PRISM International, Sprawl Issue 58.3. Spring 2020.

“The Elephant in the Lilies,” and “Collective Nouns For Peacocks,” Release Any Words Stuck Inside You Volume II, Applebeard Editions. 2019.

“The Underside of a Wing,” The New Quarterly, Issue 151. Fall 2019.

Winner of the 2019 Peter Hinchcliffe Award. Also appears After Realism: 24 Stories for the 21st Century. (Vehicule Press, 2022).

“Pandora,” Canthius, Issue 6. 2019.

http://www.canthius.com/feed-1/2019/12/8/pandora-by-paola-ferrante

“Finding Houdini,” Joyland, 2018. http://www.joylandmagazine.com/regions/canada/finding-houdini

“In Defence,” TSS Publishing. 2018.

https://theshortstory.co.uk/flash-fiction-in-defence-by-paola-ferrante/

“If You Run Away,” Geometry, Issue 2. 2017.

“Cobwebs,” Overland, 227.5. Spring 2017 Special Fiction Edition.

https://overland.org.au/previous-issues/227-5-spring-fiction/fiction-paola-ferrante/

Poetry

“BOGEYMAN” & “AFTER MIDNIGHT” The /tƐmz/ Review, Issue 17, Fall/Winter 2021. https://www.thetemzreview.com/poetry-paola-ferrante.html

“ASCH’S LINE STUDY IN THE CURRENT ANTHROPOCENE,” Best Canadian Poetry 2021, (Biblioasis, 2021). Originally published as the Short Grain Winner in Grain, 48.1. Fall 2020.

“THE SUN IS SETTING SOON.” I Found Myself in You. (Collusion Books, 2021).

“AMERICAN RABBIT,” “PRO CREATION,” “I’M OKAY BY SCHMIDT’S PAIN SCALE” CV2, 43.4. The Clarise Issue, Spring 2021.

“DESCENDANTS,” Watch Your Head, November 2020. https://www.watchyourhead.ca/watch-your-head/poetry-paola-ferrante

“Collective Stages of Grief.” Co-authored with Kate Finegan. IS IT LESS LONELY LIKE THIS? Isolation Collaborations. Digital Anthology. Collusion Books/long con magazine, March 2020. https://longconmag.com/collusionbooks/lonely/

“OVER THIRTY-FIVE,” Grain, 47.1. Fall 2019.

“MONOPHOBIA IS NOT A FEAR OF FLYING,” and “ON DISCOVERING SILICONE IMPLANTS DO NOT BURN AT 1500°,” RiddleFence, Issue 32. 2019.

“LET’S TALK,” CV2, 41.4. Spring 2019.

“ON NOT HAVING A BABY,” The Puritan, Issue 44. Winter 2019. http://puritanmagazine.com/not-having-a-baby/

“GOING SOUTH,” Bad Dog Review, Issue 1. March 2019. https://baddogmag.ca/paolaferrante

“D.C. AL CODA (FROM THE HEAD TO THE TAIL)” and “RATIONING,” The Fiddlehead, Issue 276, Summer Poetry. 2018.

“GESTATIONAL STAGE,” Carte Blanche, Issue 33. Summer 2018. http://carteblanche.org/articles/gestational-stage/

“LAWS OF MOTION,” The Puritan, Issue 40. Winter 2018. http://puritan-magazine.com/laws-ofmotion/

“PRIME TIME HORROR STORY,” New Poetry, 2018. https://newpoetry.ca/2018/04/03/prime-time-horror-story/

“THESE THINGS SHE WANTS,” Minola Review, Issue 15. 2017. https://www.minolareview.com/paola-ferrante-1

“WEDDING DAY, CIRCA MY MOTHER,” The /tƐmz/ Review, Issue 1. Oct. 2017. https://www.thetemzreview.com/paola-ferrante—wedding-day-circa-my-mother.html

“FIRST GIRL/FINAL GIRL,” Third Point Press, Issue 8. Sept. 2017. https://www.thirdpointpress.com/2017/09/first-girlfinal-girl/

Chapbooks

The Dark Unwind, Forthcoming Spring 2022 from KnifeForkBook.

The True Confessions of Buffalo Bill, 2018. Anstruther Press.

http://www.anstrutherpress.com/#/the-true-confessions-of-buffalo-bill-by-paola-ferrante/

Short Film Collaboration

“THINGS SHE WANTS,” written and read by Paola Ferrante, directed and produced by Kevin Andrew Heslop, starring Niki Carr, filmed and edited by Nicole Coenen